Using Computer Management to Close Open Acctivate Files

During the Acctivate update process, you will need to close all Acctivate instances in order to update the software. If some users are still logged in to Acctivate during this time, the following error will be returned:

workstation

If this user cannot log out of Acctivate on their own (the most common scenario being that they are out of the office and their workstation is locked), you can use the Computer Management tool on your server to close their connection to the Acctivate folder. To do this:

1. On the server, go to Control Panel -> Admin tools -> Computer Management 

2. Click the Shared Folders option from the menu on the left side of the Computer Management window, then click Open Files within the Shared Folders list.

3. Expand the Open File column to see the complete file names, then right click any file with “ACCTivate” in the name and  select Close Open File. You may need to repeat this process if multiple users are unable to log out of Acctivate.

computer management

4. After all open Acctivate related files have been closed, run the update file again. You should be able to successfully update Acctivate.

 

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Installation - Last modified on June 22, 2016Eric Cartrite
Still need help?
Search all content on this site, contact support at 817-870-1311, or create a support request.