How Workstations Are Updated

Acctivate updates are only done on the server where Acctivate is installed (see our Software Updates article). This article will explain how workstations are updated after an Acctivate update is done on the server, as well as some things to consider regarding security settings.

When installing Acctivate, a user has a few different install options (see our Downloads page). Excluding Mobile, a user has the option to do a New Install of Acctivate intended for the server or a Workstation Install intended for any other computer that will be using Acctivate. The New Install on the server is typically only done once when very first setting up Acctivate, or when migrating Acctivate to a new server. Workstation Installs are typically only done once on each computer that will be using Acctivate. The New Install on the server includes the actual application file (acctivate.exe), all of the standard reports, the backup folder, SQL, and several other things as well (take a look in C:\Program Files (x86)\ACCTivate on the server). The Workstation Install basically just includes a shortcut that points across the network to the acctivate.exe on the server, and whatever component files are required to run Acctivate on that workstation computer (see our Workstation Install help article).

When an update is done to Acctivate on the server, all Acctivate databases are updated to the new version. This includes bug fixes, new features, and updates to the logic in every database. Since only 1 Acctivate database exists for each company, only 1 update on server needs to be done. However, that’s not all that takes place during the update. New Acctivate functions/features may require new/updated component files (.dll, .ocx etc). In order to make sure that the workstations have these updated component files, the Acctivate update will put all of these required files in the ClientFiles folder (by default, in C:\Program Files (x86)\ACCTivate\ClientFiles). When a user opens Acctivate on a workstation, a check is made in that ClientFiles folder to ensure that all required component files are installed and registered on the workstation, so that Acctivate can work correctly. This is done automatically when Acctivate is opened on the workstation, so the user may not know that these updates happened at all. With the database and required component files all up to date, the workstation is ready to start using the new version of Acctivate!

Keep in mind, security settings can be configured to prevent these components from installing/updating on the workstations automatically. If the component files cannot be updated on the workstation, it’s possible for certain actions taken in Acctivate to fail and cause Acctivate to crash because the logic is demanding use of something that does not exist on the workstation. To resolve this, either modify security settings to allow the installations from the ClientFiles on the server, or right click the Acctivate shortcut and select to “Run As Administrator” to bypass the security settings. In some cases, security settings can even prevent “Run As Administrator” from allowing the files to update. If this happens, and the user is unable to change security settings, the user may consider un-installing Acctivate from the workstation, rebooting, then re-installing the Workstation Install here to ensure that all required files are installed and registered. If the version on the server is different from the version on our help site, or if you have any issues, contact Acctivate Support here.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Installation - Last modified on May 3, 2017Matt Allen
Still need help?
Search all content on this site, contact support at 817-870-1311, or create a support request.