“Do not overwrite changes to this definition during Acctivate Update”

In the Report Catalog section of Configuration Manager in Acctivate, an option called “Do not overwrite changes to this definition during Acctivate Update” exists which can be set on each report individually. This article will explain the function of enabling this option.

The screenshot below shows where this option can be set for a report in Acctivate. The example in the screenshot shows this option as being enabled for the Inventory Valuation report.

Acctivate has a list of Standard Reports which are included with the software. Acctivate uses the Report ID related to a report (as seen in the screenshot below) to identify which reports are considered ‘Standard’ reports. Only the Report ID will dictate if Acctivate sees a given report as being Standard. Even if the Report Filename is taken from the Custom Reports folder and the report is indicated as being a “Customized Report.” If the Standard Report ID is still used, Acctivate will treat this as a Standard report and may overwrite changes to definitions after an update. Acctivate will not attempt to make changes to the definitions of any reports which are not considered to be Standard.

Acctivate has default definitions which are set for each of the Standard reports. In the example of the Inventory Valuation report, these “definitions” would include the Permission Group, Document Type, Number of copies and Selection Prompts.

If these default definitions are changed in an updated version of Acctivate, or if a user has changed them to use something other than the default definitions, checking the “Do not overwrite changes to this definition during Acctivate Update” option will prevent these definitions from changing/reverting after the update is finished.

In the example of the screenshot above, “Inventory” is set as the default Permission Group for the Inventory Valuation report. If this was changed to some other value, like, “None” and the “Do not overwrite changes to this definition during Acctivate Update” option is NOT enabled, the Permission Group will revert back to “Inventory” after the update.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Configuration, Reports - Last modified on December 7, 2017Matt Allen
Still need help?
Search all content on this site, contact support at 817-870-1311, or create a support request.